Less borders, more countries

Yey! Celebrations! Finally after many delays Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and the Czech Republic are becoming part of the Schengen area. We already travelled easily between Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the two associated countries Norway and Iceland. Finally a chance to do some Christmas shopping in Ljubljana and Prague without having to pass some uniforms. Airports still do passport checks 'till March '08.
From midnight tonight you can travel 4,000km from Tallinn in Estonia to Lisbon in Portugal without any border controls. Funnily enough the geographical centre of Europe has been debated for years. It has shifted east since new member states have been joining since 1995. Remarkble how each earlier measurement resulted in the centre residing in the country executing the calculations...

No comments: